top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Hudson

Word of the Year for 2023: Purpose

Updated: Mar 4, 2023

I chose "Purpose"


I chose "purpose" as my Word of the Year because I feel the Lord wants me to focus on His purpose for me in my writing and my purpose as a Christian. These blog posts will be based on the verses I choose that relate to my word, purpose.


The theme verse I am using is my life verse: 1 Corinthians 1:27 For God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong.

Last year, I wrote a novel and allowed some people to read it. The feedback was surprising, but it made me think about the purpose of my writing. Was I meeting that purpose? I decided to rethink some areas in the novel to better align my story with my purpose as a writer.



Ralph Waldo Emerson said it well: “The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate, to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.”


The Reason for Purpose


The reason I chose this verse as my life verse is because I always thought of myself as foolish and weak. I had low self-esteem and felt I could do few things right. This verse showed me that even if that was true, it was OK because the Lord would take my foolishness and my weakness and use it to shame what was wise and strong in the world. I feel this fits in with my purpose because God is still using me in spite of any foolishness and weakness I may have. He has a purpose for all of us, especially if we are foolish or weak. That purpose should be driving us to seek what He has planned for us and to do it.

Make a Difference

I’ll add that I think sometimes joy comes from knowing that you were “useful, honorable, compassionate, and <made a difference>.” That is my focus for this year. How about you? What is your focus for this year? How will you make a difference?

I send out a newsletter twice a month. Sign up and get a free 5-week Blessings Journal.


5 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page