top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Hudson

Using Our Gifts Is Part of Our Purpose

Word of the Year: Purpose


1 Peter 4:10 As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God's varied grace: (ESV)


One of my goals this year was to read one book a month. As a writer, it’s good to keep reading. So far I’ve been doing well keeping up. However, I have recently been challenged to read more than my one book by accepting positions on three other authors’ book launch teams. This means I need to read the entire book so that I can create a review, give feedback, and tell others about the book. When I do this my editing mode kicks in. It takes time to read, edit, provide feedback, and create a review, time taken from my own editing.


Although it’s been tough finding the time, I am excited to be using my gifts to help others, and that is part of my purpose.


Unique Gifts


“Everyone has a purpose in life and a unique talent to give to others. And when we blend this unique talent with service to others, we experience the ecstasy and exultation of our own spirit, which is the ultimate goal of all goals.” Dr. Kallam Anji Reddy

One of the books I recently read was the next in a mystery series by Lee Clark, called Iced. I agreed to be on her review team so I got to read it before it was ready. I thought it was excellent and I sent her some notes.


Because of my Spanish knowledge I was able to identify some missing accent marks. It feels great to be able to help a fellow author. Spanish is something that I don’t use much but in this case I’m glad I know enough to help!


Gifts within the Body


Using our gifts to help each other is what we should do for other members of the body of Christ. I’m sure many of you are familiar with 1 Corinthians 12:12-27, which likens us to a variety of body parts. Verse 22 says that the parts that seem weaker are indispensable. So even if you don't feel like you are contributing, you are considered indispensable by God.


The passage says that the foot can’t say because it’s not a hand it doesn’t belong, and the eye can’t say because it’s not an ear it doesn’t belong. The body needs both to function. Also, the whole body can’t be an eye, or where would the hearing be? As individuals we are not enough to meet the needs of the whole body, but as a whole we function well and are all needed for different things.


1 Corinthians 12:26- If one member suffers, all suffer together; if one member is honored, all rejoice together. (ESV)

Suffer and Rejoice


I believe we can’t fulfill God’s purpose if we are solely focused on ourselves. We are meant to strengthen and support others and we are gifted by God to be able to do that. We shouldn’t let each other suffer alone, and we should be rejoicing with them. Are you using your gifts to help others? Suffering with them? Rejoicing with them?

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page