top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Hudson

Pursue Passion despite Problems

Updated: Apr 14



This year I’m pursuing my purpose as a writer and a pastor’s wife. Sometimes, a writing career seems like a futile pursuit. Writers say don’t write for money; write because you want to. But you need money to survive in this world. Reinhold Messner, considered the greatest mountaineer of all time, had it right when he said that passion and pursuit can make you strong.


“The passion I have for what could be viewed as a futile pursuit has made me strong, and it is this that gives me the confidence required to lead a self-determined life.”― Reinhold Messner, My Life at the Limit

The Climb. Reinhold Messner is an Italian climber, explorer, and author. He made the first solo ascent of Mount Everest and the first ascent without supplemental oxygen. He was also the first person to climb all the “eight-thousanders,” (mountains above 8,000 feet high) and he did it without supplementary oxygen. In addition, he was the first to cross Antarctica and Greenland without snowmobiles or dogsleds, and he crossed the Gobi Desert alone.


Messner must have faced difficult trials in his pursuit of his climbing goals. He was told his pursuits were futile. Why climb the mountain and risk your life? Why do it without oxygen? But Messner didn’t listen to people who told him his pursuit was futile. He became fueled by his passion and developed self-confidence. He was determined. Despite the struggles, he persisted in his pursuit and accomplished amazing feats.


As we climb through life, we are faced with trials that test our faith. We are told that the pursuit of godly things is futile. We can take note of Messner, and gain strength and confidence from those trials. Through those trials, God also brings joy.


My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing. ~James 1:2-4


The joy. The pursuit of faith, especially when you experience trials, can be considered futile by some, yet it is filled with joy. Over the years, I’ve had many trials. I’ve trusted that God would work things out, and in every scenario He has. Many know about my experience when my husband almost died of COVID. He was in the hospital and my family was quarantined. But during this time, my church family (and close family) provided for our needs, all of our needs—money, food, check-ins. I wrote down the blessings that God gave me throughout that tough time, and I was strengthened by it. Seeing God’s blessings brought so much joy. It was difficult to go through it, but now I am even more aware that God makes my life “perfect and complete” in each situation. I lack nothing. Each trial shows us that we can make it, even if we think it’s futile. Each experience increases our patience and shows God’s provision. We can look back and see how God has strengthened us and helped us grow.


Is there a “mountain” you want to climb? Are you being told it’s a futile pursuit? Are you going through a difficult situation?


You can find the strength and confidence. You can find the joy. Become determined. Find the blessings.


Watch God work, and your faith will grow.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page