top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Hudson

Pursue, Even When Not Perfect

Updated: Apr 14




It’s been a long week ahead of a busy weekend. I’m still recovering from illness, I lost a coworker, and I had the added stress of extra events on my schedule. On top of this, I’m feeling unconfident in my “new role” as pastor’s wife. Although no one has put expectations on me regarding this role, I feel I am not meeting them. Honestly, lack of self-confidence is not new for me. It’s just a new chance for the devil to hit on an old weakness.


My word of the year draws me to the truth of God’s word. Even though I am not perfect, I keep going. I keep following God, and keep walking the path he put me on.


Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, ~ Philippians 3:12,13


Not Attained. God is going to keep directing us and using us until we die as long as we seek Him, so we never really attain until we get to our home in Heaven.


Not Perfect. We all make mistakes. Whether it’s falling into temptation or saying something that offends someone, none of us are perfect. We’re never going to be perfect until we get our new bodies, which is when we go to be with Christ in Heaven.


Press On. If we know that we have not attained and are not perfect, the only thing to do is press on. We must continue to do the work God has for us to continue to attain. We must continue to attain so that we grow and become more like Christ. No, we will never achieve perfection, but we can continue to work on the areas we are lacking so that we will better serve the Lord.


Not Apprehended. It’s impossible to apprehend the full scope of what God has for us. In addition, we will never fully understand a God who is omniscient, omnipresent, and holy. We have to remember that life doesn’t always make sense. We will never apprehend this life. We will apprehend pieces as God reveals them to us, and we need to be comfortable with that.


Forgetting the Past. I’ve made countless mistakes in the past, as I’m sure we all have. We can forget about those. Every day is a new day with a new chance to make godly choices. What God has for us lies ahead. There’s no reason to let the past drag us down when the Lord is moving us forward to our future.


Reaching toward the Future. God has gifted us so that we can continue to be used by Him as we move into the future He has planned for us. He is the one who does the work in us. He prepares us and propels us to continue to pursue His purpose for us. Therefore we keep reaching.


“You have to be confident enough to persevere in your pursuit.”― Lailah Gifty Akita

I don’t have confidence in myself, but thankfully, God is working in my life and I am confident in what He is doing and what He has planned. Although I am tempted to say, “I quit,” quitting is not an option. Not only is it impossible to stop being what I am, I can’t stop being who God made me to be and I can’t stop doing what God has called me to do. Therefore I press on and keep reaching forward.


Do you have anything in your past that you are struggling with? Or, like me, do you struggle with self-confidence? It’s time to let go and forget the things of the past. Press on—the Lord is doing the work in you. Reach forward—the Lord has something planned for you.


0 views0 comments

Yorumlar


bottom of page