top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Hudson

Good, Acceptable, or Perfect Path




Going through life is like traveling on a path. It’s generally not a very straight path. Even the year (or month, or day) may wind in several directions.

W. Clement Stone, a famous businessman, philanthropist, and author, who wrote about success, said, “Definiteness of purpose is the starting point of all achievement.” We can wander on our path without a specific focus and end up going down rabbit trails, or we can focus on a goal with the purpose of achieving it.  


Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. ~Romans 12:2 ESV


Following the paths of the world leads through many rabbit trails. Transformation through faith helps you discern the right path. Consider the goal you might set in front of you, or the purpose on your heart, as the main path, the perfect path. There are other paths, some might be good, and some might be acceptable, but only one is perfect.


Good, Zigzag. When I started the year, one of my goals was to clean my house. I set a very loose goal to clean 10 minutes a day. Even though it seemed easy, I had difficulty justifying 10 minutes when I knew I’d get involved in a cleaning project that would take me longer than that, so I let other things take priority. My path was a zigzag because I went back and forth in moments of success and moments of failure. I kept up with the important cleaning, which was good, but I didn’t make progress in a way that was acceptable to me. I would like to do better.


Acceptable, Winding. Another goal this year was to post on social media regularly. I have a video for “Random Bible Thoughts” that I put out regularly. My intention was every week, but I’ve skipped a week a few times. It feels like the path is a winding, uphill battle as I try to gain followers, but I am making slow progress, which is acceptable.


Perfect, Straight. I won’t claim to have done everything perfectly, but I did meet at least one goal, which was to read 1 book every month. I was easily able to accomplish this goal because I had accountability. I had a group I read with. We read, discussed, and met together once a month.


In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. ~Proverbs 3:6 ESV


Throughout this year I endeavored to walk according to God’s purpose for me, and I have found so many joys along the way. My largest goal was finding purpose in my writing. I discovered that God has indeed gifted me with a talent that I will use for him, and he has put me in a position to do more as a pastor’s wife.


I believe that there is a good, acceptable, and perfect will that God has for us when we follow and seek him. He will put us on the straight path and lead us to accomplish his perfect will if we allow Him to. But He might also allow us to accomplish something good or acceptable if we get sidetracked and find ourselves wandering.


Which Are You On? Are you on a good, acceptable, or perfect path? Do you feel you are zigzagging or winding instead of going straight? Seek the Lord through prayer and scripture and He will lead you on the perfect, straight path.

1 view0 comments

コメント


bottom of page