top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Hudson

Purpose: Weakness



2 Corinthians 12:9-10 ESV But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.


Unfortunately, I can’t be perfect. That’s an issue because I am a perfectionist. I find that I get disappointed with myself when I don’t meet my own high expectations. The good news is God doesn’t expect me to be perfect. He knows I’m not and has given me grace. His expectation is that I accept his grace and accept my growth.



"I am a most noteworthy sinner, but I have cried out to the Lord for grace and mercy, and they have covered me completely. I have found the sweetest consolation since I made it my whole purpose to enjoy His marvelous Presence." - Christopher Columbus



Good News


God says His power is made perfect in weakness. This is good news for me. I can’t tell you how often I feel weak and foolish or beaten down by the circumstances of this world. God’s power gives me the strength I need.


Content through Hardships


Paul makes the connection to these things that we go through: insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. So many of us are dealing with hardships! My heart continually goes out to my friends, which includes all of you, who have shared struggles they are dealing with, and I continue to meet people who are struggling with things.

It’s hard to be content when you are going through a hardship. When I first read this, I asked myself, “How did Paul do it? How could he be content with all that happened to him?” But the answer is clear in this passage. God gives us grace, for which we can be thankful. He gives us the power to endure and overcome.


When, with God’s strength and power, we make it through the hardships, we discover that we have learned something and have grown in maturity. We have renewed faith because we have seen God work. We have a new testimony to share—a new story to tell.


Part of my purpose is to go through the hardships. They are part of the process. Another part of my purpose is to tell about it.



On My Heart

If you are struggling with something, you are on my heart. I know it’s tough, but you have grace and strength from the Lord.

I would be happy to pray for you if you let me know what to pray for. Email me: lisahudson76@gmail.com

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page